

American Coke and Coal Chemicals Institute

25 Massachusetts Ave. N.W. - Suite 800 • Washington, DC 20001 724-772-1167 • Fax 866-422-7794 • Website: www.accci.org

NEWS RELEASE

May 7, 2012 Contact: Bruce Steiner

(724) 772-1167

ACCCI PRESENTS SAFETY AWARD TO DTE'S EES COKE BATTERY PLANT

Washington, D.C. — The American Coke and Coal Chemicals Institute (ACCCI) announced that its annual Max Eward Safety Award for 2011 was presented to the employees of the River Rouge, Michigan cokemaking facility of DTE Energy Services' EES Coke Battery. The Max Eward Safety Award has been presented by ACCCI annually for twenty-five years.

ACCCI Chairman, Robert Mason, explained that the purpose of the award is to inspire and encourage member companies to improve their industrial safety programs and prevent personal injuries. The EES Coke Battery did not have a single OSHA lost workday case in 2011. "DTE Energy Services' employees have demonstrated a true dedication to safety in our industry." Robert Mason is Vice President of Operations for ABC Coke.

Ron Burnette, Plant Manager at DTE Energy's EES Coke Battery accepted the Max Eward Safety Award for 2011 on behalf of the employees of the EES Coke Battery.

The award is presented annually to the ACCCI-member coke plant which achieves the lowest incidence rate for worker injuries and illnesses. Max Eward was chairman of ACCCI's Manufacturing, Environment, Health and Safety Committee for many years prior to his retirement from Sloss Industries Corporation in 1987. The 2011 award was presented at ACCCI's 2012 Spring Meeting.

ACCCI is the international trade association which represents the producers of metallurgical coke (both merchant and integrated), tar distillers, chemical processors, metallurgical coal producers, coal and coke sales agents, and suppliers of goods and services to the industry.